Sister Hazel To Release First New Album “Lighter In The Dark” In More Than Five Years

Platinum-selling recording artists, Sister Hazel, will release their first new album in five years, “Lighter In The Dark“, February 2016.

The long-awaited 14-track collection, produced by noted Nashville producer Chip Matthews, represents the band’s longstanding ties to Music City, which date back to 2005 and include collaborations with all-star songwriters Lee Brice, Luke Laird, and Hillary Lindsey.

As their lucky 13th album release, it also ties together the many threads that make up the band’s tapestry…the restless, road-hungry rush of “Fall Off The Map” and “Run Highway Run,” the deep-country dive of “Prettiest Girl At The Dance,” and the sentiment and swagger of “Take It With Me.”

It adds up to 14 tracks, most of them co-written by members of the band. They also draw from the talents of guest artists too. You can’t miss Darius Rucker’s voice on “Karaoke Song.” Sister Hazel has been playing the song live for a while, ever since Rucker, Copeland, and Nashville songwriter Barry Dean put it together.

And we’ve always been unclassifiable,”Jett Beres concludes. “We’ll put out a record and go, ‘What is it? Is it country music? Is it Southern rock? Is it pop? is it college acoustic, alternative?’ It doesn’t matter! It’s just us doing what we’ve always done. We’re writing about who we are, where we’ve been and where we’re going. And we’ve never done it as well as we have on Lighter In The Dark.”

The band embraces their roots and Florida music influences wholeheartedly. Each member of the group is involved in writing and performing their songs and the result is a culmination of 20 years of friendship and musical sentiments.

Lighter In The Dark Track List:

  1. Lighter in the Dark“Fall off the Map”
  2. “That Kind of Beautiful”
  3. “Karaoke Song” featuring Darius Rucker
  4. “Something to Believe In”
  5. “Kiss Me Without Whiskey”
  6. “Almost Broken”
  7. “Take It With Me”
  8. “We Got It All Tonight”
  9. “Danger is Real”
  10. “Prettiest Girl at the Dance”
  11. “Thoroughbred Heart”
  12. “Run Highway Run”
  13. “Back to Me”
  14. “Ten Candle Days”

Fans ordering the CD at the live shows or the digital album from iTunes will receive an instant download of “We Got It All Tonight”. More information and the new music is available for you here  (password: sister).

For more information on Sister Hazel and special preorder packages, visit their website and follow them on Twitter and Facebook.


Read ON

On the “Hick-Libs”

While the hick-lib celebrities would have us believe that Appalachia and rural Oklahoma is home to covert gay coal miners and queer cowboys, the overwhelming

Read more >
Country Music Pride