Kris Kristofferson & Willie Nelson Perform “Sunday Mornin’ Comin’ Down” At Taste of Country

Blackbird Presents Records offers another sneak preview from the upcoming concert film and CD/DVD release, “The Life & Songs Of Kris Kristofferson”. “Sunday Mornin’ Comin’ Down” features Kris Kristofferson joined by longtime friend Willie Nelson. Together they perform the Kristofferson-penned, 1970 No. 1 country hit for their fellow Highwayman, Johnny Cash.

Watch on Taste of Country here…

Kristofferson also performed the song last week at Nashville’s historic Ryman Auditorium for the Nashville Songwriters Association International’s 50th anniversary celebration, honoring each of the 50 Song Of The Year winners in its history.

“Sunday Mornin’ Comin’ Down” was the first of three NSAI Song Of The Year winners Kristofferson penned, and he is one of only two songwriters to ever write as many. The song is currently available to stream and download at most online outlets HERE.

“The Life & Songs Of Kris Kristofferson” features captivating performances, in-depth interviews, and compelling behind-the-scenes footage with Kris Kristofferson, Jessi Alexander, Lady Antebellum, Dierks Bentley, Ryan Bingham, Rosanne Cash, Eric Church, Jessi Colter, Rodney Crowell, Larry Gatlin, Emmylou Harris, Jack Ingram, Shooter Jennings, Jamey Johnson, Alison Krauss, Martina McBride, The Travelin’ McCourys, Reba McEntire, Buddy Miller, Willie Nelson, Jennifer Nettles, Jon Randall, Darius Rucker, Hank Williams Jr. and Lee Ann Womack.

Performances include a range of Kristofferson classics, such as “Me And Bobby McGee” (performed by Reba McEntire), “Help Me Make It Through The Night” (Performed by Lady Antebellum), “To Beat The Devil” (Performed by Eric Church), a very special performance of “Sunday Mornin’ Comin’ Down” (performed by Willie Nelson and Kris Kristofferson), and an all- star grand finale performance of “Why Me.”

  1. “Please Don’t Tell Me How The Story Ends” Buddy Miller
  2. “Kristofferson” Jessi Alexander, Jon Randall & Larry Gatlin
  3. “Here Comes That Rainbow Again” Martina McBride
  4. “The Taker” Ryan Bingham
  5. “The Captive” Jessi Colter
  6. “Nobody Wins” Lee Ann Womack
  7. “Jesus Was A Capricorn (Owed to John Prine)” Jack Ingram
  8. “Worth Fighting For” Jennifer Nettles
  9. “Loving Her Was Easier (Than Anything I’ll Ever Do Again)” Rosanne Cash
  10. “Chase The Feeling” Emmylou Harris & Rodney Crowell
  11. “The Pilgrim: Chapter 33” Emmylou Harris & Kris Kristofferson
  12. “From the Bottle to the Bottom” Dierks Bentley & The Travelin’ McCourys
  13. “Help Me Make It Through The Night” Lady Antebellum
  14. “Under The Gun” Darius Rucker
  15. “For The Good Times” Jamey Johnson & Alison Krauss
  16. “Casey’s Last Ride” Alison Krauss
  17. “If You Don’t Like Hank Williams” Hank Williams Jr.
  18. “To Beat The Devil” Eric Church
  19. “Me And Bobby McGee” Reba McEntire
  20. “Sunday Mornin’ Comin’ Down” Willie Nelson & Kris Kristofferson
  21. “Why Me” Kris Kristofferson & Full Ensemble

As previously announced, CMT will premiere the 90-minute broadcast on Friday, October 27th at 10 PM ET and Blackbird Presents Records will release the full-length concert film as a CD/DVD combo on the same day. “The Life & Songs Of Kris Kristofferson” CD/DVD and official concert merchandise is available for immediate pre-order via Blackbird Presents at


Read ON

On the “Hick-Libs”

While the hick-lib celebrities would have us believe that Appalachia and rural Oklahoma is home to covert gay coal miners and queer cowboys, the overwhelming

Read more >
Country Music Pride