Kacey Musgraves Proves She’s “Pageant Material”

Kacey Musgraves has announced that she will release her much anticipated sophomore album, “Pageant Material” on June 23rd. The album which will feature her current single “Biscuits,” is continuing to climb the charts at country radio. The newest release was heavily inspired by some of her most-cherished classic country records, and she chose a more even-keeled course throughout this album than on her first release.

Musgraves co-wrote all tracks on “Pageant Material” and as she did on her first LP, she also serves as co-producer with Shane McAnally, Luke Laird, Josh Osborne and Brandy Clark. “Pageant Material”, was recorded at Nashville’s historic RCA Studio A. (See the complete track listing and songwriter credits below.)

“Pageant Material” is available for pre-order here.

The Texas native has earned massive critical acclaim since the release of her Gold-certified debut album Same Trailer Different Park including two Grammys at the 56th Annual Grammy Awards (Song of the Year-“Merry Go Round,” Best Country Album) and 2014 ACM Album of the Year.

“Going back into the studio this time around was really fun and exciting for me because I knew more about myself and my direction,” said Musgraves. “The majority of Pageant Material was recorded live–which was a bit of a departure from “Same Trailer”–and gave it more of a concise, classic sound. All of the incredible musicians were in the same room playing on the entire record, and I think that spirit comes across. The last couple of years have done so much for me, and this project was really affected by that in the best way. There are certain moments lyrically that still hit me hard even after listening so many times. It’s a great glimpse into where my head is from “Same Trailer” to now.”

“Pageant Material” track listing (and songwriters):
1. “High Time” (Kacey Musgraves, Luke Laird, Shane McAnally)
2. “Dime Store Cowgirl” (Musgraves, Laird, McAnally)
3. “Late to the Party” (Musgraves, Brandy Clark, Josh Osborne)
4. “Pageant Material” (Musgraves, Laird, McAnally)
5. “This Town” (Musgraves, Laird, Clark)
6. “Biscuits” (Musgraves, McAnally, Clark)
7. “Somebody to Love” (Musgraves, McAnally, Osborne)
8. “Miserable” (Musgraves, Osborne, Clark)
9. “Die Fun” (Musgraves, Laird, McAnally)
10. “Family Is Family” (Musgraves, McAnally, Osborne)
11. “Good Ol’ Boys Club” (Musgraves, Laird, Hemby)
12. “Cup of Tea” (Musgraves, McAnally, Osborne)
13. “Fine” (Musgraves, Ashley Arrison, McAnally)


“I am really inspired by really fun country songs,” Musgraves said prior to a performance of the song in Louisville, Kentucky, earlier this year. “I love John Denver… when you hear it, it might remind you of that. But I warn you that it might entice some square dancing, so get ready.”

Biscuits:The “Baking Of” – The real video will be coming soon but Kacey wanted to share a little behind the scenes of making the song with her fans.

Musgraves recently played the Stagecoach Festival in Indio, CA and is set to play additional festivals throughout the rest of the year such as Bonnaroo in Manchester, TN next month and Bumbershoot in Seattle, WA this September.

For more information on Kacey Musgraves, check out her website and follow her on social media on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram.



Read ON

On the “Hick-Libs”

While the hick-lib celebrities would have us believe that Appalachia and rural Oklahoma is home to covert gay coal miners and queer cowboys, the overwhelming

Read more >
Country Music Pride