CMA Awards: Eric Church Leads with Five Nominations

Jason Aldean and Luke Bryan appeared live on Good Morning America Wednesday morning to announce the nominations for the 46th Annual CMA Awards.  Eric Church topped the list with five nominations, including Male Vocalist and Album of the Year, along with Song, Video and Single of the Year for his #1 hit “Springsteen.”  Country music’s power couple, reigning Female and Male Vocalist of the Year Miranda Lambert and Blake Shelton, followed closely with four nods each.  Jason Aldean, Dierks Bentley, Kenny Chesney, Little Big Town and Taylor Swift each received three nominations.

“The depth and variety of talent represented by this year’s nominees is outstanding,” CMA Chief Executive Officer Steve Moore said in a press release, “From Country Music legends, to cross-format favorites, to current superstars, and an exciting crop of artists who have jumped to the next level – the 2012 CMA Awards are going to be an exciting evening of entertainment for any fan of great music and memorable performances.”

Notable nominees included Kelly Clarkson, receiving her first individual nod to date, and Snoop Dogg’s collaboration with Willie Nelson, Jamey Johnson and Kris Kristofferson, “Roll Me Up and Smoke Me When I Die,” making it into the running for Musical Event of the Year.  Church joined several other few fresh faces popping up in major categories – including Luke Bryan for Male Vocalist and Album of the Year, Clarkson for Female Vocalist of the Year, and Eli Young Band for Vocal Group of the Year.

The CMA Awards will be broadcast live from Bridgestone Arena in Nashville on Thursday, November 1st, hosted by five-time veterans Carrie Underwood and Brad Paisley.

The full nominee list:

Entertainer of the Year: Jason Aldean, Kenny Chesney, Brad Paisley, Blake Shelton, and Taylor Swift

Album of the Year: Eric Church’s Chief, Miranda Lambert’s Four the Record, Dierks Bentley’s Home, Lady Antebellum’s Own the Night, and Luke Bryan’s Tailgates & Tanlines.

Single of the Year: Jason Aldean’s “Dirt Road Anthem,” Blake Shelton’s “God Gave Me You,” Dierks Bentley’s “Home,” Little Big Town’s “Pontoon,” and Eric Church’s “Springsteen”

Song of the Year: “Even If It Breaks Your Heart” (Will Hoge and Eric Paslay), “God Gave Me You” (Dave Barnes), “Home” (Dan Wilson, Brett Beavers, and Dierks Bentley), “Over You” (Miranda Lambert and Blake Shelton), and “Springsteen” (Eric Church, Ryan Tyndell, and Jeff Hyde)

Male Vocalist of the Year: Jason Aldean, Luke Bryan, Eric Church, Blake Shelton, and Keith Urban

Female Vocalist of the Year: Kelly Clarkson, Miranda Lambert, Martina McBride, Taylor Swift, and Carrie Underwood

Vocal Group of the Year: Eli Young Band, Lady Antebellum, Little Big Town, The Band Perry, and Zac Brown Band

Vocal Duo of the Year: Big & Rich, Love and Theft, Sugarland, The Civil Wars, and Thompson Square

New Artist of the Year: Lee Brice, Brantley Gilbert, Hunter Hayes, Love and Theft, and Thompson Square

Music Video of the Year: Kenny Chesney’s “Come Over,” Miranda Lambert’s “Over You,” Little Big Town’s “Pontoon,” Toby Keith’s “Red Solo Cup,” and Eric Church’s “Springsteen”

Musical Event of the Year: “Dixie Highway” (Alan Jackson featuring Zac Brown Band), “Feel Like a Rock Star” (Kenny Chesney duet with Tim McGraw), “Roll Me Up and Smoke Me When I Die” (Willie Nelson with Snoop Dogg, Kris Kristofferson, and Jamey Johnson), “Safe & Sound” (Taylor Swift featuring the Civil Wars), and “Stuck on You” (Lionel Richie with Darius Rucker)

Musician of the Year: Sam Bush (Mandolin), Paul Franklin (Steel Guitar), Dan Huff (Guitar), Brent Mason (Guitar), and Mac McAnally (Guitar)



Read ON

On the “Hick-Libs”

While the hick-lib celebrities would have us believe that Appalachia and rural Oklahoma is home to covert gay coal miners and queer cowboys, the overwhelming

Read more >
Country Music Pride