Lady Antebellum, Taylor Swift, Carrie Underwood, Jason Aldean Lead CMT Music Awards Nominees

In a very close race, hot country newcomers and veteran superstars battle for top votes in the final round of the 2010 CMT Music Awards. Leading the way with three nominations each, Jason AldeanLady AntebellumTaylor Swift andCarrie Underwood are top contenders according to the list of full nominees which was revealed at on Tuesday (May 11). Following closely behind are Kenny ChesneyToby KeithMiranda LambertReba McEntireTim McGrawBrad PaisleySteel MagnoliaSugarlandKeith Urban and Zac Brown Band with two nominations each.

“When you look at the talent and diversity amassed within these categories, it’s easy to see why this has been CMT’s biggest year ever,” said CMT President Brian Philips. “Hosted by our Nashville-brother-by-way-of-Detroit,Kid Rock, this night promises to be an unforgettable party.”

Joining the male video of the year category for the first time are Jason Aldean and Billy Currington, while Reba McEntire reappears in the female category for the first time since 2005, despite multiple recent CMT Awards nominations in other categories, including video of the year. Other highlights include Gloriana‘s first entrance in the group category, while Steel Magnolia joins duo for the first time.

The 2010 CMT Music Awards will air live from Nashville’s Bridgestone Arena on June 9 on CMT and Country music’s biggest stars are slated to perform, including Keith, Lady Antebellum, Lambert, Underwood and Urban, with more to be announced.

Fans can vote online at through June 8 to determine the winners. The final nominees for video of the year will be announced at the beginning of the live show, and fans can then vote at and via text message throughout the live broadcast (ET/CT only) to determine the night’s big winner.

The final nominees are:

Video of the Year
Best video of the year; awarded to the artist (male, female, group/duo or collaboration) and the video director. Final nominees announced during live telecast, with final voting held online at during the show.

• “American Ride” – Toby Keith
• “Cowboy Casanova” – Carrie Underwood
• “Need You Now” – Lady Antebellum
• “Out Last Night” – Kenny Chesney
• “The Truth” – Jason Aldean
• “‘Til Summer Comes Around” – Keith Urban
• “Toes” – Zac Brown Band
• “Welcome to the Future” – Brad Paisley
• “White Liar” – Miranda Lambert
• “You Belong With Me” – Taylor Swift

Male Video of the Year
Best video by a male artist; awarded to the artist

• “American Ride” – Toby Keith
• “People Are Crazy” – Billy Currington
• “Southern Voice” – Tim McGraw
• “The Truth” – Jason Aldean
• “‘Til Summer Comes Around” – Keith Urban

Female Video of the Year
Best video by a female artist; awarded to the artist

• “Consider Me Gone” – Reba McEntire
• “Cowboy Casanova” – Carrie Underwood
• “White Liar” – Miranda Lambert
• “You Belong With Me” – Taylor Swift

Group Video of the Year
Best video by a group; awarded to the artists

• “Here Comes Goodbye” – Rascal Flatts
• “How Far Do You Wanna Go?” – Gloriana
• “Need You Now” – Lady Antebellum
• “Toes” – Zac Brown Band

Duo Video of the Year
Best video by a duo; awarded to the artists

• “Indian Summer” – Brooks & Dunn
• “Keep On Lovin’ You” – Steel Magnolia
• “Keep You” – Sugarland
• “Nightswimming/Joey” – Sugarland

USA Weekend Breakthrough Video of the Year
Best video from an artist’s major breakthrough album; awarded to the artist (male, female, or group/duo)

• “A Little More Country Than That” – Easton Corbin
• “Do I” – Luke Bryan
• “Giddy On Up” – Laura Bell Bundy
• “Keep On Lovin’ You” – Steel Magnolia

Collaborative Video of the Year
Best video that featured a special collaborative appearance by artists; awarded to the artists (individual, group or duo)

• “Best Days of Your Life” – Kellie Pickler featuring Taylor Swift
• “Heaven” from CMT Crossroads: Bryan Adams and Jason Aldean – Jason Aldean and Bryan Adams
• “Hillbilly Bone” – Blake Shelton featuring Trace Adkins
• “I’m Alive” – Kenny Chesney with Dave Matthews

CMT Performance of the Year
Musical performance on a television show, series or variety special on CMT; awarded to the artist (individual, group or duo)

• “Consider Me Gone” from Invitation Only: Reba – Reba McEntire
• “Lookin’ for a Good Time” from the 2009 CMT Music Awards – Lady Antebellum
• “Southern Voice” from Invitation Only: Tim McGraw – Tim McGraw
• “Temporary Home” from Invitation Only: Carrie Underwood – Carrie Underwood
• “Then” from the 2009 CMT Music Awards – Brad Paisley

Video Director of the Year
Best video director of the year; awarded to the director for his or her body of work from the past year

• Deaton Flanigen (award eligible videos include: Jason Aldean’s “The Truth” and Carrie Underwood’s “Temporary Home”)
• Chris Hicky (award eligible videos include: Miranda Lambert’s “White Liar” and Justin Moore‘s “Small Town USA”)
• Shaun Silva (award eligible videos include: Kenny Chesney’s “Out Last Night” and Rascal Flatts’ “Summer Nights”)
• Roman White (award eligible videos include: Taylor Swift’s “You Belong With Me” and Kellie Pickler’s “Best Days of Your Life”)

Courtesy of


Read ON

On the “Hick-Libs”

While the hick-lib celebrities would have us believe that Appalachia and rural Oklahoma is home to covert gay coal miners and queer cowboys, the overwhelming

Read more >
Country Music Pride