CMA nominations announced

Today, on “Good Morning America,” country music stars Dierks Bently and Miranda Lambert announced the star-studded lineup of country artists nominated for the coveted Country Music Association Awards.

Lambert led the crowd with nine nominations. Lady Antebellum — who recently wowed the “GMA” audience with the latest country hits — has been nominated for five.

And the nominees are …

Entertainer of the Year: Lady Antebellum, Miranda Lambert, Brad Paisley, Keith Urban and Zac Brown Band

Female Vocalist of the Year: Miranda Lambert, Martina McBride, Reba McEntire, Taylor Swift and Carrie Underwood

Male Vocalist of the Year:

Dierks Bentley, Brad Paisley, Blake Shelton, George Strait and Keith Urban

Album of the Year: “Need You Now,” by Lady Antebellum; “Play On,” by Carrie Underwood; “Revolution,” by Miranda Lambert; “Twang,” by George Strait; and “Up On the Ridge,” by Dierks Bentley

Single of the Year:

(award goes to artist and producer)

“A Little More Country Than That,” performed by Easton Corbin

“Hillbilly Bone,” performed by Blake Shelton

“Need You Now,” performed by Lady Antebellum

“The House That Built Me,” performed by Miranda Lambert

“White Liar,” performed by Miranda Lambert

Musical Event of the Year:

“Bad Angel,” Dierks Bentley, featuring Miranda Lambert and Jamey Johnson

“Can’t You See,” Zac Brown Band, featuring Kid Rock

“Hillbilly Bone,” Blake Shelton, featuring Trace Adkins

“I’m Alive,” Kenny Chesney, with Dave Matthews

“Till The End,” Alan Jackson, with Lee Ann Womack

New Artist of the Year: Luke Bryan, Easton Corbin, Jerrod Niemann, Chris Young and Zac Brown Band

Vocal Group of the Year: Lady Antebellum, Little Big Town, Rascal Flatts, the Band Perry and Zac Brown Band

Vocal Duo of the Year: Brooks & Dunn, Joey + Rory, Montgomery Gentry, Steel Magnolia, and Sugarland

Song of the Year: (Award goes to Songwriters)

“A Little More Country Than That,” by Rory Lee Feek, Don Poythress and Wynn Varble

“Need You Now,” by Dave Haywood, Charles Kelley, Hillary Scott and Josh Kear

“The House That Built Me,” by Tom Douglas and Allen Shamblin

“Toes,” Zac Brown, Wyatt Durrette, John Driskell Hopkinsand Shawn Mullins

“White Liar,” by Miranda Lambert and Natalie Hemby.

Music Video of the Year: (Award goes to Artist and Director)

“Hillbilly Bone,” Blake Shelton, featuring Trace Adkins directed by Roman White

“Need You Now,” Lady Antebellum, directed by David McClister

“The House That Built Me,” Miranda Lambert, directed by Trey Fanjoy

“Water,” Brad Paisley, directed by Jim Shea

“White Liar,” Miranda Lambert, directed by Chris Hickey

Musician of the Year:

Paul Frankin – Steel Guitar

Dann Huff – Guitar

Brent Mason – Guitar

Mac McAnally – Guitar

Randy Scruggs – Guitar

Tune into The 44th Annual CMA Awards hosted by Brad Paisley and Carrie Underwood Wednesday, Nov. 10, on ABC at 8 p.m. E.

 Courtesy of ABCnews


Read ON

On the “Hick-Libs”

While the hick-lib celebrities would have us believe that Appalachia and rural Oklahoma is home to covert gay coal miners and queer cowboys, the overwhelming

Read more >
Country Music Pride