2009 CCMA Fans’ Choice Award Nominees Announced

Voting opens Friday, July 24 at CMT.ca

(Nashville, Tennessee) July 22, 2009 – The Canadian Country Music Association announced today the nominees for the 2009 CCMA Fans’ Choice Award: George Canyon, Doc Walker, Jessie Farrell, Aaron Pritchett and Johnny Reid.

Beginning Friday, July 24 until Sunday, September 6 at 11:59 p.m. EST, the public can vote online at www.CMT.ca for their favorite Canadian Country Star. The winner will be announced during the CCMA Awards at GM Place in Vancouver, British Columbia on Sunday, September 13, 2009. The show will broadcast nationally on CBC Television at 8 p.m. with encore broadcasts on CMT in Canada.

Country neo-traditionalist, George Canyon, is a multiple CCMA Award winner, two-time JUNO Award winner (Country Recording of the Year), and an ECMA winner for four consecutive years (2005-2008) for Country Recording of the Year and Video of the Year.

Winner of three CCMAs in 2008 (Female Artist of the Year, Rising Star, and Top New Female Talent of the Year) and nominated for a 2009 JUNO Award (New Artist of the Year), Vancouver BC’s
Jessie Farrell has definitely made an imprint on the Canadian country music scene.

The growth of Aaron Pritchett’s career is the result of solid planning and arduous work. Having toured with the likes of Brooks & Dunn, Alan Jackson and Toby Keith, Pritchett has garnered many accolades and awards, including a CCMA for Independent Male Artist of the Year and the Songwriter of the Year Award in 2007 for the anthem, “Hold My Beer.”

Canadian success story and 2008 Top Selling Canadian Album of the Year winner and 2008 Male Artist of the Year, Johnny Reid recently saw his album Dance With Me go gold in just over 48 hours and platinum in just two months.

Described as Canada’s hardest working country band, Doc Walker took home six awards at last year’s CCMA Awards Broadcast and recently took home a JUNO for Country Recording of the Year. With good old-fashioned perseverance and passion for what they do, Doc Walker has fast become one of Canada’s premier country music acts.

For more information regarding the 2009 CCMA Awards, please visit www.ccma.org or www.countrymusicvancouver.com. Nominees will be announced at a media conference in Toronto, ON Wednesday, July 29.

Tickets for the CCMA Awards are available at all Ticketmaster locations, online at www.ticketmaster.ca, and by phone at 604.280.4444. Ticket prices range from $20 to $125 (plus applicable taxes and service charges).


Read ON

On the “Hick-Libs”

While the hick-lib celebrities would have us believe that Appalachia and rural Oklahoma is home to covert gay coal miners and queer cowboys, the overwhelming

Read more >
Country Music Pride